One final activity!

Congratulations on reaching the end of Learning 2.0 @ Mac! As you know, the deadline to complete all the activities is May 11 (that’s this Friday!) in order to qualify for your MP3 player and to be eligible for the draw for a laptop!

For the final week, we have just one last thing we want you to do: summarize your thoughts and reactions to what you’ve learned over the past 10 weeks. Here are just a few examples of the sorts of things we’d like to know:

  • What were your favorite technologies, tools or activities?
  • Has Learning 2.0 @ Mac helped you get comfortable with emerging technologies? How?
  • Were there any take-aways or unexpected outcomes from this programme that surprised you?
  • What could we do differently to improve upon this program’s format or concept?
  • (And this is what we really want to know!) If the Emerging Technologies Group offered another discovery programme like this in the future, would you chose to participate?

While this final activity is not mandatory, we would very much like to hear your thoughts & reactions to the programme, so consider this a final favour to your Team Leaders 😉

11 comments so far

  1. mrlinkert on

    My favourite technologies,tools,activities:
    Facebook-I am learning more about fellow staff through pictures and comments, good social tool.
    Koho-great tool for sharing spreadsheets and documents with others to add/edit/compile information.
    del.icio.us-this is a handy way to retrieve bookmarks from my computer at home and work.
    Second Life-this is very exciting and I need to spend a lot more time investigating.

    Unexpected Outcomes:
    I wasn’t aware that tools like Koho and Google Docs/Spreadsheets existed. This could be very valuable in my day-to-day work.

    Program format or concept:
    I think that I learned more through personal instruction. (Krista’s Second Life demo, Amanda’s suggestion to try Koho). It would be helpful for Members of the ETG to recommend tools that they use on a regular basis or in our daily work to improve efficiency. I hope the emails don’t stop now because all of us need to keep trying new technologies and practicing what we already learned.

    I would most definately participate in more activities like this one. I learned so much and
    had fun in the process!

    Thanks to the ETG and all of the Team Leaders, your enthusiasm was so encouraging.

  2. me on

    I can’t believe we’ve come to the end of the Learning 2.0 programme. I almost miss the weekly assignments. Some were difficult, some not, but much of this exploring was done with colleagues. Which is great.

    My favourites: del.icio.us, facebook, blogging

    Comfort level: Learning 2.0 increased my comfort level with new technologies. The assignments seemed to get easier over time and I credit that to the programme.

    Outcomes: some tools/applications (e.g. del.icio.us, blogs) are useful in the workplace. Some are fun too and, overall, I’m more informed than I once was.

    The Programme: I was pleased with it, and I was fortunate to have a great team leader (Alex). I appreciated the attention he gave to the blogs, posting comments on them and such.

    Would I be interested in another programme? Yes. It’s for my own good. I was a skeptic starting the programme but I enjoyed working through it and, as I stated earlier, I enjoyed the collegiality that came with it.

  3. Tazzcat on

    Thanks for the opportunity to try the Emerging Technologies. I have learned a lot but still feel that there is a lot out there I don’t know about. While the programme may be ending I think I will be spending the rest of the summer playing and practicing. Naturally Gaming and Virtual Worlds was my favourite, it’s probably a good thing that my home computer died!!! If you were to do it again, I would sign up in a heartbeat. I am going to continue working on my blog, just to see what I can do. Again thanks for the opportunity, keep in touch.

  4. Rhonda Moore on

    Since I have posted my wrap up thoughts on my own blog, I don’t want to repeat the same here. I just wanted to mention how much I enjoyed the Learning 2.0 activities. I learned some new things that I didn’t know before, and was able to expand on what I did already know.

    I think the blogging, social bookmarking, and gaming was the best for me. I’m not afraid of technology at all and I knew of some of these features, I just don’t necessarily have the time to explore all.

    I liked the format as it was presented. I am a self learner and like to explore things myself, so the format of self learning was great. I liked having the suggestions of places to explore but then liked having the time to explore myself.

    If further discovery was offered, I would be the first in line to try out the offerings!! 😉

    Thanks to everyone for this wonderful project!

  5. Donna Thomson on

    The 2.0 learning concept was brilliant. It presented exposure to many concepts that many staff would simply not have tried. My one regret is that I did not have more time to explore them all fully but will definitely go back and revisit my favourites. The speed that they were presented was perfect and it got many staff sharing good practices and success tips.

    Congrats on a program well done.

  6. Laila Zvejnieks on

    This has been a great experience. It certainly opened my eyes as to what a different experience university is these days! There is so much to explore and I look forward trying out more things in the future. I’m enjoying using Facebook and keeping in touch with my much younger nieces and nephew. Blogging is fun although I haven’t added much to mine so far. I also enjoy the games; Freecell is one of my favorite card games. All in all a very worthwhile experience. Many thanks to the great team who made this possible for the rest of us!

  7. liblearning on

    I have already commented in the Learning Technologies Blog, but I’ll add that I’ve very much enjoyed learning and using the new technologies which we are now hearing and reading about so much in the media, and which are beginning to creep into the workplace. I would like to be able to spend so much more time in exploring each week’s activities! I think del.icio.us is a great tool, and yes, I would definitely participate in other discovery programs.

  8. Lynn Schneider on

    Learning 2.0 was a great program. My favourite tool is Facebook (who isn’t addicted to facebook???). I learned so much, but I think I need to spend some more time with a few of the things that I just briefly tried out (ie. meebo, bookmarklets). I feel like I’m not in the Stone Age anymore!! Yay for Learning 2.0 (and a big thank you to Alex… you rock!)

  9. gaskinno on

    What were your favorite technologies, tools or activities?

    That’s a tough one — what wasn’t my favourite? Online tools, Facebook, blogging — I liked it all!
    Has Learning 2.0 @ Mac helped you get comfortable with emerging technologies? How?

    made me take the time to do some things I just hadn’t taken the time for, like install & use FireFox & create an account on Facebook
    showed me a better way to do some things I was already doing, like del.icio.us vs. Furl
    introduced me to some things I’d never even heard of, but now know I’ll use a lot, like the AutoCopy browser add-on, online tools like sign generators and photo editors, and some of the other online tools that I haven’t yet checked out, but will go back to the Learning 2.0 blog list & try
    Were there any take-aways or unexpected outcomes from this programme that surprised you?

    how quickly I got sucked into Facebook; all it took was finding a few friends & relatives & getting a few people inviting me into groups & writing on my wall, and I was a goner. As my cousin’s son, a student at StFX said on my wall when I friended him, “Game Over! And so your addiction begins! Mwahahahah!” And since I’m already sort of addicted to 2nd Life, I’m going to have to make an extra effort get to the gym so all my muscles don’t completely atrophy sitting at my computer all day & half the night…
    What could we do differently to improve upon this program’s format or concept?
    start it in May when people aren’t as busy & have 1 activity per month until the following May, with a monthly deadline for each one ;-)”
    we didn’t really take that much advantage of our groups or group leaders, so maybe set something up in LearnLink or WebCT? Not sure though; people could have commented in the blog, but not that many did & I was one who didn’t; maybe a more “secure” environment like one of the course management software tools, or some other kind of bulletin-board-like thing — like the Facebook group even! — would encourage group participation and discussion more
    other than that, it’s been great, and I really wouldn’t change much
    (And this is what we really want to know!) If the Emerging Technologies Group offered another discovery programme like this in the future, would you chose to participate?

    without hestitation; just tell me when, and I’m there!

  10. Patricia Dempster on

    I wrote my comments about the program in my Blog’getting it down pat’ so I don’t want to repeat myself here. There is one thing though, that I would like to repeat and that is – THANK YOU!

  11. Stephanie Hilson on

    Great job ETG. I learned a lot through the program. Now I just have to figure out how to fit it all into my day. Thanks to you all.


Leave a Reply

